Editions Magnificat

Religious Publications: Books, Pictures, monthly Magnificat Magazine, Calendar, etc.

Editions Magnificat

The little print shop that was initially installed in our Monastery continues to modernize and expand. Currently, several presses and other printing and binding machines are in operation to carry out various religious projects. This considerable body of equipment comes in general from generous donors or enterprises who turn over to us their obsolete presses or other machines at very affordable prices. Sometimes we have to invest a great deal of time, labor and resourcefulness to perform repairs and fine tuning, but everything works out for the best!

Many publications with print runs in the thousands are printed in the Monastery every year:

  • a monthly Magazine: Magnificat, published in French and in English
  • a religious Calendar printed in four languages (French, English, Spanish, Italian)
  • pictures of Jesus, Mary, the Saints, Bible scenes — most of these from paintings by our own artists
  • various books, brochures or flyers, also published in several languages
  • Holy Scripture, biographies, spirituality, Catholic Christian doctrine, catechisms, conferences, prayer books, etc.

Composition, illustrations, translations, layout, plate preparation, each stage of printing and assembly: everything is entirely completed by members of the Order and produced in the Monastery. We generally do our own bookbinding, although some generous benefactors do furnish bookbinding of superior quality at modest prices or free of charge.

Categories

Archives

Photographic Overview

Printing the Magnificat Calendar.

“We do not distribute books, pictures and statues in order to make money, but only for the purpose of the apostolate.  What matters is the spiritual influence, the apostolate effected by this means.”  (Father John Gregory)

Desktop publishing

“The Blessed Virgin says in our Rule that the spirit of this Order is none other than the Spirit of Jesus Christ in oneself and the Spirit of Jesus Christ in souls.  Our role will be to convey the Spirit of Jesus Christ to souls.  That is why it is so important for us to be wholly imbued with it ourselves.”   (Father John Gregory)

Artist at work

“Sacred art exists for one reason only: to inspire and foster piety. Man needs to be reminded of the great supernatural realities, and in this respect, when religious art was authentic, it played a very important role in the Church. But to fulfill its purpose, sacred art must be simple, close to reality. Artistic works must express religious scenes, thoughts, feelings in such a way that they touch the simplest souls.”  (Father John Gregory, Encyclical Peter Speaks to the World)

Preparation of printing plates

“Everything we do in the material realm is for the purpose of achieving a spiritual goal.  Even if all the books we print changed only one soul, it would be worth printing them to reach that soul.  If we print a thousand books, and out of a thousand, twenty-five people profit from it, it is worth it.  We must always see things from a supernatural point of view.”  (Father John Gregory)

 

Printing the Magnificat Calendar

“Those of you who make statues, pictures, religious objects, books, do these tasks in prayer, with much love, if you want graces to be attached to these objects.”   (Father John Gregory)

Preparing the Printing

“Let us live in God, my brothers and sisters.  Let us think of the great supernatural realities and forget these trifles.  What everyone thinks about us is of no importance whatsoever.  What counts is to have God’s favor, to please Him in all things and to advance with long strides on the road to heaven.”   (Father John Gregory)

Printing

All is vanity except to love God and to serve Him only, says The Imitation of Christ. Fortune, money, fine talent, all is pure vanity. All the finest things of this world are nothing if they do not help lift us up to God, to make us grow in His love. That is why it is so important to perform all our tasks in a supernatural spirit, a spirit of charity and of submission to the holy Will of God, without attaching our heart to anything in this world.”   (Father John Gregory)

Installing a new press

“God never lets Himself be outdone in generosity. You can be sure that when we give to God with one hand, we receive in the other. When God promised us the hundredfold in this world, it was no figure of speech; it is a reality for everything we give Him.”  (Father John Gregory)

Assembling books

“All the works of the apostolate are ineffective if they are not joined to prayer and penance.  Even if we printed the finest books, that could yield nothing without the grace of God.  And the grace of God comes to us through prayer and penance.”  (Father John Gregory)

Stapling brochures

“You are the salt of the earth; but if the salt loses its strength, what shall it be salted with?…  You are the light of the world. A city set on a mountain cannot be hidden… Even so, let your light shine before men, in order that they may see your good works and give glory to your Father in heaven.”   (Matthew 5:13-14,16)

 

Binding

“Anyone who has left everything for My name’s sake, shall receive a hundredfold in this world,”8 says Jesus.  There is a great joy reserved for the servants of God, those who sacrifice everything for Him.  This profound joy is already a reward on earth.”   (Father John Gregory)

Binding

“Gratitude invites Him to give us more; and of course, the greatest gratitude is to make use of what He gives us, for His glory and to carry out His holy Will. My God, You have given me a healthy body, a good mind. I will put them to use in Your service, with all the strength of my soul.”  (Father John Gregory)

Assembly

“God loves a cheerful giver. He wants generous hearts, ready to do everything for Him at the slightest sign.”  (Father John Gregory)

Cutting the sides

“Preach the word, be urgent in season, out of season; reprove, entreat, rebuke with all patience and teaching. For there will come a time when they will not endure the sound doctrine; but having itching ears, will heap up to themselves teachers according to their own lusts, and they will turn away their hearing from the truth and turn aside rather to fables.”  (Epistle of Saint Paul the Apostle, II Timothy 4:2-4)

 

Finishing touch

“I will use the hands You have given me for the performance of holy works. In turn, out of gratitude, I give You this entire being which You have freely given me out of pure goodness.”  (Father John Gregory)

Shipping

“As soon as God shall return to the earth and reign in homes, we will experience sunny days.  It will be the golden age of humanity, because God will have regained His place.  Seek the Kingdom of God, and all the rest shall be given you besides.  The rest means everything we need:  food, clothing, health, happiness.  Everything comes to us if first we have God in our life.  May God have the first place!”  (Father John Gregory)

Les Éditions Magnificat

Publications religieuses: Livres, images, revue mensuelle Magnificat, Calendrier, etc.

Les Éditions Magnificat

Dès ses débuts, une petite imprimerie a été mise sur pied, et ne cessant de se moderniser et de prendre de l’expansion.  Actuellement plusieurs presses et autres appareils d’imprimerie et de reliure sont en opération pour réaliser des projets religieux.  Cet équipement considérable provient, en général, de généreux donateurs ou d’entreprises qui nous cèdent leurs vieilles presses ou autres appareils à des prix très abordables.  Il faut parfois investir bien du temps, du travail et de la débrouillardise pour les réparations et les mises au point, mais enfin ça fonctionne! Plusieurs publications sont imprimées chaque année au Monastère à des milliers d’exemplaires:

  • une Revue mensuelle: Magnificat, publiée en français et en anglais
  • un Calendrier religieux imprimé en quatre langues (français, anglais, espagnol, italien)
  • des images de Jésus, Marie, des Saints, des scènes bibliques — la plupart d’après des tableaux peints par nos artistes
  • divers livres, brochures ou dépliants, publiés aussi en plusieurs langues.
  • Écriture Sainte, biographies, spiritualité, doctrine chrétienne catholique, catéchisme, conférences, livres de prière, etc.

Composition, illustrations, traduction, mise en page, préparation des plaques, toutes les étapes d’impression et d’assemblage: le tout est entièrement réalisé par des membres de l’Ordre et produit au Monastère.  La reliure est généralement faite chez nous, cependant de généreux bienfaiteurs font certains lots de reliure de qualité supérieure, à prix modique ou gratuitement.

Categories

Archives

Aperçu photographique

Impression du calendrier Magnificat. «Si nous répandons des livres, des images, des statues, ce n’est pas pour faire de l’argent, mais dans un but d’apostolat seulement. L’important, c’est le rayonnement spirituel, l’apostolat fait par ces moyens.»   (Père Jean-Grégoire)  

Photocomposition

  «La Très Sainte Vierge dit dans notre Règle que l’esprit de cet Ordre n’est autre que l’Esprit de Jésus-Christ en soi et l’Esprit de Jésus-Christ dans les âmes. Notre rôle sera de transmettre l’Esprit de Jésus-Christ aux âmes. C’est pourquoi il importe tant que nous en soyons nous-mêmes tout pénétrés.»   (Père Jean-Grégoire)

Artiste à l'oeuvre

«L’art sacré n’a qu’une seule raison d’être:  celle d’inspirer et de nourrir la piété.  L’homme a besoin de se faire rappeler les grandes réalités surnaturelles et, sous ce rapport, l’art religieux, quand il était authentique, a joué un rôle très considérable dans l’Église. Mais pour réaliser son but, l’art sacré doit être simple, proche de la réalité. Les oeuvres artistiques doivent exprimer des scènes, des pensées, des sentiments religieux de manière telle qu’elles puissent toucher les âmes les plus simples.»   (Père Jean-Grégoire, Encyclique Pierre parle au monde)

Préparation des plaques

«Tout ce que nous faisons dans l’ordre matériel est pour atteindre un but spirituel. Même si tous les livres que nous imprimons ne changeaient qu’une seule âme, cela vaudrait la peine de les imprimer pour atteindre cette âme. Si nous imprimons mille livres, et que sur mille, vingt-cinq personnes en tirent du profit, cela vaut la peine. Il faut toujours voir les choses d’un point de vue surnaturel.»   (Père Jean-Grégoire)

Impression du calendrier Magnificat

«Vous qui fabriquez des statues, des images, des objets religieux, des livres, faites ces travaux en prière, avec beaucoup d’amour, si vous voulez que des grâces soient attachées à ces objets.»   (Père Jean-Grégoire)

Préparation de l'impression

«Vivons en Dieu, mes frères et mes soeurs. Pensons aux grandes réalités surnaturelles et oublions ces bagatelles. Ce que chacun pense de nous n’a aucune importance. Ce qui compte, c’est d’avoir la faveur de Dieu, de Lui plaire en toutes choses et d’avancer à grands pas sur le chemin du Ciel.»  (Père Jean-Grégoire)

Impression

«Tout n’est que vanité, dit l’Imitation de Jésus-Christ, hors aimer Dieu et Le servir Lui seul. Les fortunes, l’argent, les beaux talents, tout n’est que vanité. Toutes les plus belles choses de ce monde ne sont rien, si elles ne servent pas à nous élever vers Dieu, à nous faire grandir dans Son amour. C’est pourquoi il est si important de faire tous nos travaux en esprit surnaturel, en esprit de charité et de soumission à la sainte volonté de Dieu, sans attacher notre coeur à rien de ce monde.»  (Père Jean-Grégoire)

Installation d'une presse

«Dieu ne Se laisse pas vaincre en générosité. Soyez sûrs, mes frères et mes soeurs, que lorsque nous donnons d’une main au bon Dieu, nous recevons de l’autre. S’Il nous a promis le centuple en ce monde, ce n’est pas une figure de style, c’est une réalité pour tout ce que nous Lui donnons.»  (Père Jean-Grégoire)

Assemblage des livres

«Toutes les oeuvres d’apostolat sont inefficaces, si elles ne sont jointes à la prière et à la pénitence. Même si on imprimait les plus beaux livres, cela ne pourrait rien produire sans la grâce de Dieu. Et la grâce de Dieu nous vient par la prière et la pénitence.»  (Père Jean-Grégoire)

Agrafage des brochures

«Vous êtes le sel de la terre; si le sel s’affadit, avec quoi le salera-t-on?  Il n’est plus bon à rien, qu’à être jeté dehors pour être foulé aux pieds par les hommes.  Vous êtes la lumière du monde.  Une ville située sur une montagne ne peut être cachée.  On n’allume pas une lampe pour la mettre sous le boisseau, mais sur le lampadaire, et elle éclaire tous ceux qui sont dans la maison.  Qu’ainsi votre lumière brille devant les hommes, afin qu’ils voient vos bonnes oeuvres et glorifient votre Père qui est dans les cieux.»  (Évangile de Notre-Seigneur Jésus-Christ, Matthieu 5, 13-16)

Reliure

«Quiconque abandonnera tout pour Me suivre recevra le centuple en ce monde, dit Jésus. Il y a une grande joie réservée aux serviteurs de Dieu, à ceux qui sacrifient tout pour Lui. Cette joie profonde est déjà une récompense sur la terre.»  (Père Jean-Grégoire)

Reliure

«La reconnaissance invite Dieu à nous donner davantage, et la plus grande reconnaissance, c’est d’utiliser ce qu’Il nous a donné pour Sa gloire, pour l’accomplissement de Sa sainte volonté. Mon Dieu, Vous m’avez donné un corps en santé, une intelligence; je vais les employer pour Votre service, avec toute la force de mon âme.»  (Père Jean-Grégoire)

Assemblage

«Le bon Dieu aime ceux qui donnent avec joie. Il veut des coeurs généreux, prêts à tout pour Lui au moindre signe.»   (Père Jean-Grégoire)

On tranche les bords

«Proclame l’Évangile, insiste à temps et à contretemps; reprends, réprimande, exhorte avec une entière patience et toujours en vue d’instruire. Un temps viendra où les hommes ne supporteront plus la saine doctrine; au gré de leurs passions, ils s’entoureront d’un tas de docteurs, parce que l’oreille leur démange; et ils détourneront leur attention de la vérité pour se tourner vers des fables.» Épître de l’Apôtre saint Paul, II Timothée 4, 2-4

Travail de finition

«Ces mains que Vous m’avez données, mon Dieu, je m’en servirai pour accomplir des oeuvres saintes. Tout cet être que Vous m’avez donné gratuitement, par pure bonté, je Vous le donne à mon tour par reconnaissance.»  (Père Jean-Grégoire)

Expédition

«Aussitôt que Dieu reviendra sur la terre et qu’Il régnera dans les foyers, nous connaîtrons des jours ensoleillés. Ce sera l’âge d’or de l’humanité, parce que le bon Dieu aura été remis à Sa place. Cherchez le royaume de Dieu et le reste vous sera donné par surcroît. Le reste, cela veut dire tout ce dont vous aurez besoin: la nourriture, le vêtement, la santé, le bonheur. Tout nous vient, si d’abord nous avons Dieu dans notre vie. Que Dieu ait la première place!»  (Père Jean-Grégoire)